Getting a Florida DUI Under 21
If you were charged with a DUI under the age of 21, you should know about the laws that affect you. Florida's Zero Tolerance law applies to those under the state drinking age that drink and drive. If it is your first offense, you could receive 50 hours of community service, a fine, and at least 180 days of license revocation. At a BAC level of .02, you could be charged with a DUI. This law is meant to deter young people from drinking and driving. Read below to learn more about how to handle your DUI.
First, you should read about Florida DUI laws to know what rules you broke (and how to avoid breaking them in the future). Next, talk to a parent or close friend about which steps you are going to take next. It's a good idea to find a Florida DUI lawyer at this point so you can discuss your options and possible outcome of your case. Third, resolve to avoid future run-ins with the zero tolerance law. It is set up to be as strict as possible for your protection, as well as for the protection of those around you.