Vehicle Impound and License Suspension for First-Time DUI Offenders in Florida
This is the third in a series of six blogs, which address the consequences first-time driving under the influence (DUI) offenders face in the state of Florida. The fourth part of this series will discuss DUI school and community service options for first-time DUI offenders.
Drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Florida face a number of serious consequences including having their license and their vehicle taken away from them. The length of a license suspension, for example, will depend on the circumstances of the arrest and the defendant’s driving record.
Those convicted of driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher may have their vehicle impounded. A first-time conviction could result in a 10-day vehicle impoundment. There are circumstances, however, in which the order of impoundment may be dismissed. For example, the court will likely not impound the vehicle if the family of the defendant has no other form of transportation. There are also exceptions for vehicles that are used solely by employees of the defendant’s business.
A DUI conviction in Florida could result in a license suspension as well. A first-time DUI conviction could result in a driver’s license suspension of between 180 days and one year. Any person who operates a vehicle with a suspended license may face additional criminal charges. For example, Florida Statute 322.34 makes it a third-degree felony to cause a serious injury while driving on a suspended license.
DUI convictions can also result in community service, fines, jail time, increases in insurance premiums, and a number of other penalties. If you are facing DUI charges, do not hesitate to speak with a lawyer who knows how to fight drunk driving charges and how to negotiate for reduced penalties.
Dedication to the Rights of Defendants
The skilled Jacksonville DUI attorneys at Musca Law have a successful track record of handling drunk driving cases. Our goal is to help protect your driving privilege and build a solid defense strategy. We provide free and confidential case evaluations at (800) 687-2252 to anyone facing DUI charges in Florida.