Can a DUI Be a Felony in Florida?
A DUI is generally a misdemeanor offense in Florida, punishable a jail sentence of up six months and a maximum fine for $1,000 for a first-time offense. However, a DUI can be charged as a felony, depending on a variety of factors – such as an individual’s history of DUIs.
A felony DUI in Florida can occur when:
- The offender has been convicted of a third DUI within a 10-year period.
- The offender is convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI.
- The offender inflicted serious bodily injury on another person as a result of driving under the influence.
- The offender killed another person while driving under the influence.
Penalties for a Felony DUI in Florida
A third DUI within the past 10 years, a fourth or subsequent DUI, and a DUI involving serious bodily injury are all considered third-degree felonies. A third-degree felony is punishable by a prison sentence of up to five years and a maximum fine of $5,000.
DUI manslaughter is a second-degree felony, which is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000. On the other hand, DUI manslaughter and leaving the scene is considered a first-degree felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 30 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Call (888) 497-0216 to Obtain Experienced Legal Representation
If you were arrested and charged with a felony DUI, Musca Law is committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and freedom. With more than 150 years of combined experience, our Florida criminal defense attorneys have an extensive knowledge of state law to help you navigate through the complexities of the legal system.
Do not hesitate to contact us and request a free case evaluation today.