What Are the Liquor Laws in Florida?
Many individuals enjoy imbibing alcohol, whether for social gatherings or for personal tastes. However, those new to Florida or new to alcohol, such as those just turning 21 years of age, may not know the specific laws regarding alcohol regulation in the state. Here are a few Florida laws regarding alcohol and liquor use.
Time and Place Restrictions
People can only buy beer, wine, and liquor from retail stores, grocery, and convenience stores in Florida. Spirits are also available in retail package stores. However, no alcohol is sold on Sunday, although a few specific counties are licensed to sell it 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Likewise, bars and restaurants must stop serving alcohol between 1 a.m. and 7 a.m.
Like most states, the legal drinking age is 21 years of age. However, restaurant servers and bartenders can be as young as 18 years old. Also, any person can sell beer and wine in an off-premises establishment if they are 18 or older. A person must be 21 to transport, sell, or handle spirits.
Open Container Laws
No open bottle of alcohol can be in a car while it is moving. All previously opened bottles must be carried in the vehicle’s trunk.
Blood alcohol content (BAC) must be below a certain level to legally drive in the state. All people over the age of 21 cannot have more than a BAC of 0.08%. Underage drinkers with a BAC over 0.02% can also be arrested and charged with drinking under the influence (DUI). Likewise, commercial drivers can only have a BAC of 0.03%. If it is any higher, they will be charged with a DUI and could lose their licenses.
Implied Consent Laws
Florida has what are called “implied consent laws.” This means that by mere virtue of driving on public Florida roads, you have given your implied consent to take a breath, blood, or urine test if you are suspected of being under the influence. Penalties for refusing lead to an automatic suspension of your driver’s license.
For more information about liquor laws in Florida, or to begin a case if you have been accused of a crime, don’t hesitate to call. Our skilled Florida DUI attorneys have more than 150 years of combined experience to offer you. Contact us at (888) 497-0216 or fill out our online form to schedule a case consultation today.