Florida's Penalties for a DUI Conviction
Florida, like every other state in the United States, has its own set of DUI laws. If you are arrested for driving under the influence, it’s important to know what the penalties are for a conviction. It’s important to hire a lawyer if you are arrested for a DUI because the penalties can be severe. These are the things you can expect.
What are the Penalties for a First-Time DUI?
- Fines: For a first-time DUI conviction, you can expect a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $1,000. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is found to be greater than 0.15 or if there was a minor in the car, both minimum and maximum fines are doubled.
- Probation: You can expect to be on probation for as little as one day or as long as one full year.
- Jail time: When you are arrested for a DUI, you will have to serve time in jail. This sentence can be as little as one day or as long as six months. However, driving with a minor or with a BAC of 0.15 or greater, your imprisonment in jail can be a single day or up to nine months.
- Suspension of driver’s license: Of course, you will also have your driver’s license suspended with a DUI on your record. You can expect it to be suspended for a minimum of 180 days or for as long as a year.
- Vehicle impoundment: Your vehicle is impounded after a DUI for a mandatory 10 days.
- Ignition interlock device: In some cases, you will not have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at your own expense. If you do have one, it can remain in place for six months.
- Additional penalties: There are additional penalties as well, such as 50 hours of community service, attendance at and completion of DUI Counter Attack School, and a substance abuse evaluation. In some cases, you may be recommended for treatment.
Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction
For a second DUI conviction within five years of a first-time DUI conviction, the penalties are similar, but some are slightly more severe. Generally, the fines are double the amount for a first-time offense, jail time is a minimum of 10 days to 9 months, and 10 days to 12 months if your BAC was 0.15 or higher or if you had a minor in the vehicle, your license is suspended for five years, your vehicle is impounded for 30 days if your second DUI conviction occurs within three years of the first, and you have an ignition interlock device in place for at least one year.
If you are arrested in Florida for a DUI, you need a skilled Florida DUI defense attorney on your side. Our team at Musca Law can work to get the charges against you reduced or even dropped.
Call us today and learn more about how our firm may be able to help you.