This is the first in a series of six blogs provided by Musca Law about the consequences of getting arrested or convicted on driving under the influence (DUI) charges for the first time in Florida. The second part of this series will discuss the potential fines and jail time that could be one of the serious consequences of a first-time DUI conviction.
Drunk Driving Arrest
Getting arrested on suspicion of a driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be an alarming experience. Fighting DUI charges can be expensive. In addition, if you are convicted of driving under the influence, you may face a slew of expenses including hefty fines, court fees, insurance rate increases, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and participation in an alcohol education or rehabilitation program. If you have been arrested on suspicion of a DUI, it would be in your best interest to cooperate with the arresting officer and providing basic information such as your identification and contact information. However, it would be in your best interest to refrain from chatting with the officer after your arrest as anything you say at this time can and will be used against you during the trial.
The Consequences of a DUI Conviction
Even first-time DUI offenders could face the following unenhanced drunk driving penalties:
- A fine of at least $500 but no more than $1,000.
- Up to six months of jail time.
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service or a fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
- A probation period of up to one year.
- A 10-day vehicle impound.
- License suspension of at least 180 days but no more than one year.
- DUI school.
The Importance of Obtaining Quality Legal Representation
If you or a loved one has been arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence, the experienced Florida DUI defense lawyers at Musca Law can help you better understand your legal rights and options. There are many possible legal defenses in DUI cases. Our attorneys have decades of experience fighting these charges and helping individuals protect their reputation. Please contact us at (800) 687-2252 if you or someone you know has been accused of driving under the influence.