Being accused of a crime in Dixie County can be a traumatic and stressful experience. When the stakes are high, you need a criminal defense lawyer who has the experience, knowledge, skill, and commitment to help you get the best possible result in or out of court. It is important that anyone who is facing criminal charges understands his or her rights under the law and acts immediately to protect them.
There are severe penalties for drunk driving in Florida. Even first-time offenders who were not even involved in an accident can face jail time and a one-year license suspension. Individuals responsible for an injury accident could face a three-year license suspension. Convicted DUI drivers may also have to pay an administrative fee, a revocation reinstatement fee, perform at least 50 hours of community service, up to six months of imprisonment, and required attendance in a DUI school. Some drivers will even have to install an expensive and inconvenient ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
A skilled Dixie County DUI defense attorney can review the circumstances of the arrest to determine the best course of action for the defendant. In some cases, a criminal defense attorney will aggressively fight the charges. In other cases, he or she can negotiate for lesser penalties and help avoid jail time.
Under Florida law, you can face up to a year of jail time for possessing less than 20 grams of marijuana. Possession of over 20 grams of marijuana can result in felony charges punishable by five years of incarceration and a fine of $5,000. There are additional penalties if it is proven that the defendant intended to sell the drugs. You can even face jail time for simply possessing drug paraphernalia such as a pipe or bong. It is a huge mistake to not take these types of charges seriously. A knowledgeable Dixie County drug crime defense attorney with experience handling these types of cases will work to fight the charges and obtain a favorable outcome.
First time offenders arrested for stealing less than $100 could face up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine if they are convicted for shoplifting. Second- degree petty theft charges increase to first-degree petty theft charges when the items taken were valued between $100 and $299. In such cases, the defendant could face up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. Stealing between $300 and $19,999 is considered third-degree grand theft and it is punishable by five years in jail and a $5,000 fine. It is crucial that anyone facing shoplifting or theft charges gets representation from an experienced defense attorney right away.
Protect Your Future
Individuals facing charges in Dixie County are facing potentially life-changing penalties. Sometimes the creation of a criminal record can be as harmful as jail time and heavy fines. Anyone facing charges would be well advised to contact anexperienced Dixie County defense attorney who is familiar with criminal law and effective defense strategies. If you or a loved one has been accused of a crime, please contact Musca Law for a no-cost consultation.
Courthouse in Dixie County, Florida
Cross City Courthouse
Dixie County Criminal Defense Resources
- Dixie County Government Website
- Information about Dixie County, FL
- Dixie County Sheriff’s Office, 214 NE 315 Hwy. Suite L, Cross City, FL 32628
- Dixie County Clerk of the Circuit Court
- Criminal Defense Information Center
Cross City Helpful Links
Contact a Cross City Criminal Defense Lawyer at Musca Law today to discuss your charges!