There are many different reasons why a person can get their license suspended, between traffic offenses and too many points on your license to one of the consequences of being convicted of a criminal offense. In some cases, you could face a suspension for a month or two, while other penalties may call for a suspension of multiple years.
Depending on the nature of your offense, the DMV may provide you with a temporary or restricted license that allows you to get to work or school. Not having a license at all or having a restricted license can be stressful, but it is illegal to drive with a suspended license and doing so can lead to further penalties.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
In Florida, it is considered a criminal offense to drive while your license is suspended. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances under which you were arrested. A few examples of common reasons licenses are suspended include driving without insurance, refusing a breathalyzer, getting arrested for DUI, and falsifying your license application.
The penalties for being caught driving without a license include:
- First-time and second-time offenses: Misdemeanor offense, up to $500 in fines, and up to 60 days of imprisonment.
- Third-time and subsequent offenses: Felony offense, up to $5,000 in fines and up to 5 years in prison.
Pursue Reversing Your License Suspension
If you have a serious need to drive and your license is suspended, you should consider appealing the DMV instead of simply driving. You may actually have a chance to get certain driving privileges back or even have your license un-suspended if you try the legal way first. By going through the proper channels, you can avoid the consequences of being caught while driving with a suspended license.
Speaking with a Florida criminal defense lawyer from Musca Law is in your best interest if you have been caught driving with a suspended license. Please call us today at (800) 687-2252.