Police were called to a home after a robbery occurred. Three men forced their way into the home, robbed a woman while she held her infant child, and then shot the woman’s boyfriend twice. The victim identified one of the robbers to the authorities as a man who lives in her neighborhood. Police took the suspect into custody where he confessed to the crime. The suspect in custody identified our client as one of the other assailants in the robbery. The Police arrested and charged our client with Felony Robbery, Felony Possession of Weapon by a Convicted Felon, and Violation of Probation.
Felony Robbery in Florida is a second-degree offense, which will result in up to 15-years in state prison along with a fine of up to $10,000. Robbery is defined as the act of unlawfully taking money or possessions from another individual by using threat, force, violence, or assault. Robbery is a level 6 in the Florida Criminal Punishment Code.
Felony Possession of a Weapon by a Convicted Felon
Felony possession of a weapon by convicted felon occurs when a felon knowingly possesses, cares for, controls, or owns a firearm. This is a second-degree felony that is a level 5 offense on Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. This offense carries with it a penalty of up to 15-years in prison, 15-years of probation, and a fine of $10,000.
Violation of Probation
When a criminal defendant violates the terms of their probation, a violation of probation (VOP) takes place. Under Florida law, this is a serious offense as there are stiff penalties that are associated with it. There are various ways one can violate the terms of their probation:
- Testing positive for a controlled substance
- Not meeting with their probation officer on a regular schedule
- Failing to complete a drug program or diversion program
- Committing a new crime/being arrested for it
- Not paying fines/restitution
- Acts resulting from negligence/ineptitude
- Acts resulting from a mental illness
If a violation of probation occurs, the courts can impose any sentence that may have originally been given when the crime was first committed. They cannot be sentenced with more than the statutory maximum penalty.
Contacting Musca Law Firm
If you or a loved one face such a charge, you will need legal representation to help you in court. With over 150-years of combined legal experience among our team of criminal defense attorneys, Musca Law is able to negotiate with the prosecution in order to have your charges reduced or dismissed entirely. We have defended many clients against a wide range of criminal charges, and are capable of building a strong and strategic legal defense on your behalf based on the specifics of your case.
We have multiple offices across the state of Florida for your geographical convenience. We offer a free, no-obligation initial case consultation and answer our phones 24/7 to be available when you need us. Don’t hesitate to call our office today at (888) 484-5057 to speak with one of our experienced attorneys.
RESULT: The police found the remaining suspect and took him into custody. The defense discussed the details of the case with the prosecution. The Musca Law attorney successfully persuaded the state that our client had no involvement in this horrific crime. The State DROPPED all charges against the client.