Driver Fled 3 Car Accident; Charged with Careless Driving & Leaving Scene of a Crash

Careless Driving Dismissed & No Conviction on Leaving Scene of a Crash Charge

The Charges

A Driver involved in a 3 car accident fled the scene. There were injuries and damage that occurred in the accident. The Police caught up with the perpetrator and charged him with Careless Driving and Leaving the Scene of a Crash.

Careless Driving

Careless driving in Florida is a civil traffic offense. Points may be added to your driving record, which often means higher automobile insurance rates. In the event of a traffic accident, many police officers will issue a careless driving ticket as they were not able to witness the accident themselves.  

Leaving the Scene of a Crash in Florida

A crime is committed when a person crashed into another person’s property, such as a car or a building. This person willingly leaves the scene before providing pertinent information, such as their name, insurance information, and driver’s license to the person who owns the property.

Under Florida law, steps that should be taken as soon as an accident occurs where there have been either injuries or death are:

  • Stop immediately
  • Exchange information with the other party
  • Assist the injured or call for medical assistance. If the injury is too severe to take the above step, law enforcement should be called

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Leaving the scene of an accident is a second-degree misdemeanor. Any combination of the following penalties can be imposed by a judge:

  • Six months of probation
  • 60 days in jail
  • Up to a $500 fine

If there were injuries that were sustained in the accident, the penalties are steeper.  These will include any combination of the following:

  • Five years in prison
  • Five years of probation
  • Up to a fine of $5,000

The offender will also lose their driver’s license for three years or more. A hardship license will not be considered until the offender has completed a 12-hour driving improvement course.

If there was a serious bodily injury in the crash, penalties once again rise, using any combination of the following:

  • 15 years in prison
  • 15 years probation
  • Up to a $10,000 fine

Fighting Traffic Offenses

Should you ever receive any traffic offenses, from careless driving to leaving the scene of a crash, you will need the help of a professional and experienced lawyer. Our attorneys at Musca Law are ready to help you every step of the way. We have many defenses that can be provided so we can defend you in court. Do not let it be your word against another’s word. Call us today for a consultation.  

RESULT: The Defense subpoenaed the citing Officer on the scene and the witnesses to the crash. The Defense moved forward with setting depositions when the State offered a plea deal. The Defense negotiated a generous plea where the State DISMISSED the Careless Driving charge and found no formal finding of guilt with the Leaving the Scene of a Crash charge. The Client is now eligible to have his records expunged.

Back to Case Results
Empower Yourself - GET TRUSTED DEFENSE Get Your Free Case Evaluation