A Pensacola DUI Defense Firm with Over 150 Years Combined Experience
We are Pensacola DUI lawyers who focus exclusively on criminal defense. People who are facing driving under the influence charges in Pensacola or the surrounding area may want to consider hiring an attorney. Often times our clients feel overwhelmed or are confused about how they should proceed with their case. We provide real information so people can make an informed decision. Individuals charged with DUI in Pensacola should take these charges seriously because a conviction can mean a number of different and serious consequences. If a person has been arrested and charged with DUI, they should be sure to contact an experienced Pensacola DUI defense lawyer to learn about their defense options.
DUI Lawyers in Pensacola
DUI lawyers at Musca Law located in Pensacola have many years of experience providing DUI defense representation. We can help people understand their situation whether it is a first offense, second offense, third or subsequent offense, a felony DUI, drug-related DUI, DUI manslaughter, CDL DUI, underage DUI, BUI, or other offense.
DUI Defense in Pensacola – Florida Statute 316.193
Pensacola DUI defense attorneys at Musca Law recommend people charged with DUI become familiar with Florida Statutes Section 316.193 which provides the statutory elements of and penalties associated with DUI in Pensacola Florida. Pursuant to the law in the state of Florida, a person can be charged with DUI based on a number of different factual scenarios. Some of the factors taken into consideration when a prosecutor decides if an individual should be charged with DUI in Pensacola Florida include, but are not limited to:
How high was the individual’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC)? Was it .08 percent or more?
Was the individual’s BAC .15 or higher?
Was the individual driving or in physical control of a vehicle when they allegedly committed the offense?
Was the individual impaired to any degree by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of alcohol or drugs?
Did the individual seriously injure or kill anyone?
Did the individual cause any property damage?
Was the individual previously convicted of DUI?
DUI Defense in Pensacola – Factors
This list of factors noted by our experienced Pensacola DUI lawyers used to determine potential charges is not exhaustive, and sometimes there are certain situations that warrant felony DUI charges. If a person has been arrested and charged with DUI in the Pensacola area they should contact a lawyer immediately to discuss their legal options.
DUI Defense Lawyers in Pensacola, Florida
Some of the penalties associated with a DUI conviction in Pensacola can include jail time, fines, and the administrative suspension of the privilege to drive. There are also damaging collateral consequences according to our legal experience. Some examples of the difficulties of having a criminal record include difficulty obtaining student financial aid, difficulty to rent an apartment, difficulties possessing a firearm, and even difficulties getting or keeping a job. Other consequences of a DUI conviction in Pensacola and throughout the state of Florida can include:
Mandatory Volunteer Hours
Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in the vehicle
10 Day Vehicle Impoundment of the vehicle
Mandatory Completion of a Substance Abuse Course
Pensacola DUI Penalties
People arrested and charged with a 2nd DUI offense within 5 years of their 1st offense can face enhanced penalties that can include a minimum jail sentence of 10 days. If there are certain specific aggravating factors present, the person can be subject to even more draconian penalties, such as lengthy jail sentences, large fines, and driver’s license suspensions.
Felony DUI Defense Attorneys in Pensacola, Florida
DUI offenses in Pensacola Florida are usually charged and treated as misdemeanor offenses. That said, under some factual circumstances, the charges can be considered a felony. Under Florida law, a person can be charged with a felony DUI offense if:
It is their 3rd DUI in 5 years;
It is their 4th or subsequent DUI;
The person seriously injured or killed another person as a result of the DUI offense.
Most felony DUI offenses in Pensacola and the state of Florida are considered 3rd-degree felonies. However, some circumstances in Pensacola Florida warrant a second or first-degree felony DUI. If someone dies as a result of the DUI, it can be charged as second-degree DUI manslaughter. In this situation, a person can face up to 15 years in prison. Leaving the scene of the accident after someone dies can result in a 1st-degree felony charge, where penalties can include up to 30 years in prison.
BUI Defense Law Firm in Pensacola, Florida
In Pensacola and the state of Florida, it is also against the law to boat while under the influence or impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. Section 327.35 of the Florida Statutes contains the elements and penalties associated with boating under the influence (BUI) in the state of Florida and Pensacola. If a person is convicted of a first-time BUI offense in the state of Florida, they could face up to six months in jail. The penalties can be even more strict depending on the facts and circumstances of the person’s case.
Speak with a Qualified DUI Defense Lawyers in Pensacola, Florida
Experienced DUI defense lawyers in Pensacola at Musca Law help people charged with either BUI or DUI in Pensacola, Florida. People can consult with one of our experienced Pensacola Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys immediately to protect and preserve their constitutional rights.
We Have the Legal Strength You Need
Fill out the form below for your
free case evaluation.