What are the Penalties of a DUI Conviction in Florida?
It's one of the last things anyone ever wants to experience: being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). Based on Florida law, a person can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances. According to Chapter 316 of Florida Statutes, s. 316.193, F.S., DUI in Florida is an offense that is "proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above." The penalties for driving under the influence in Florida vary based on whether the conviction is for a first, second, third, fourth, or additional offense. However, overall, the penalties involve thousands of dollars in fines, community service, probation, and imprisonment ranging from 6 months to 5 years. It is important to note that even if an individual is convicted for DUI for the first time, the penalties can be more severe if their blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) was .15 or higher, or there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest. Depending on the circumstances of a DUI arrest, a person may also face driver license revocation, impoundment or immobilization of vehicle, mandatory installation of ignition interlock device, and completion of DUI school. In regards to imprisonment, the court decides whether the defendant's sentencing terms may be fulfilled in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, which counts as "credit" for a term of imprisonment. If you or someone close to you are facing serious DUI penalties, it is important to have an aggressive Florida drunk driving attorney on your side. At Musca Law, our criminal defense lawyers have decades of experience defending the rights of those charged with DUI and other criminal offenses. We will leverage our legal resources and knowledge to get the charges being held against you reduced or dismissed altogether. For more information, call us today at (888) 484-5057 for a free and confidential consultation.