Bad/Worthless Check Charges
Facing Charges? Call Our Florida Defense Lawyers.
It is a criminal offense to draw or issue a check, draft a written money order, or to use a debit card for payment when at the time the issuer knows there are insufficient funds to cover the payment. Any offense involving a bad check has the potential to be serious, particularly when the intended victim of the offense is the IRS, Department of Revenue or any other government agency. It is also illegal to stop payment on a check with the intent to defraud the person or entity to which it was issued.
If you or someone you know has been accused of issuing a worthless check, it is important you seek appropriate legal counsel. At Musca Law, our experienced team of Florida fraud attorney is here to help you understand your rights and your options in this matter.
Talk with one of the fraud attorneys today during a free consultation. Call (888) 484-5057!
Penalties for Issuing a Worthless Check in Florida
Issuing a bad check worth less than $150 is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. The issuer may face civil charges as well and if convicted in civil court may face paying up to three times the value of the check as well as attorney fees and other costs. Issuing a worthless check worth $150 or more is a third-degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
A person who is issued a worthless check can file a formal notice to the person who issued the check, demanding full payment of the value of the check. If the issuer does not pay within the time limit he or she may then face criminal and civil charges. Don't let these charges turn into a conviction. Allow our Florida fraud attorneys to guide you today!