Officers stopped a driver for failing to maintain a single lane of traffic. The driver exhibited signs of intoxication and agreed to participate in sobriety testing. The driver failed roadside testing and blew a .04% breathalyzer test. The driver also agreed to take a urinalysis test. Officers arrested the defendant for DUI.
Driving Under the Influence
Driving under the influence, also known as DUI, is a misdemeanor. For a first offense, one could spend up to 6 months in jail. However, if there is a child in the vehicle, time will be increased to 9 months. Anyone who has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15% or higher will also be subjected to 9 months in jail. If you have a BAC of .15% or higher or have a minor in the car at the time of the DUI, an interlock ignition device (IID) will be placed on any vehicles that the offender drives. This expense will be paid for by the defendant. The IID will typically be in place for up to 6 months.
There are also mandatory DUI penalties that everyone who has a DUI charge will face. These include a 10 day impoundment of your car, community service (50 hours), and 12 months of probation. You will also have to have monthly report-ins with your assigned probation officer.
Fines are also a part of the penalties. Fines start at $500 for a first offense but could be as high as $15,000 in cases of DUI manslaughter.
DUI schooling is a penalty that is paid for by the defendant, and is very expensive. There are two levles of this type of schooling. In level one, the defendant will be provided information on how alcohol or other controlled substances affect one’s ability to drive. The defendant will be given information on how to drive responsibly. The second level of the class is specifically for those who have received a second DUI. This class will go over alcoholism and is longer than level one.
DUI Lawyers In Florida
If you or a loved one have been arrested for DUI, you need a skilled lawyer that can fight for you. They should be local to your case and have an excellent track record of winning previous cases. The attorney should have extensive DUI training, experience, and have wonderful and consistent communication skills.
We at Musca Law Firm pride ourselves for meeting all of those criteria. We can assist you in winning your case or having your charges lowered. We serve all of Florida with offices located in multiple cities throughout the state. We are willing to put ourselves in tough negotiations with the prosecution for you. Call us today at (888) 484-5057 for a free initial case consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
RESULT: The defense negotiated with the State over the fate of the client. The attorney obtained a reduced reckless driving charge prior to the results of the urinalysis test. The client agreed, resulting in NO DUI CONVICTION!