It is not terribly unusual to hear about a case in which a juvenile is engaged in some form of mischief. However, in this case, our client had been charged with Burglary, Grand Theft, and Criminal Mischief, after breaking into a temporary fireworks stand, and causing damage to surrounding buildings. After being dropped off in the area by a friend, our client, accompanied by another juvenile, decided to break into the fireworks stand, stealing approximately $300.00 worth of fireworks. During that same timeframe, they proceeded to take some used tires from a nearby towing company and walked to an adjacent building, where they climbed the roof and threw the tires off, along with some rocks and some bricks. Earlier that morning, an employee who worked at one of the buildings contacted the police to report torn awnings and a damaged A/C unit. The exterior video surveillance showed our client throwing rocks at the awnings, as well as bricks at the A/C unit.
Under Florida law, burglary occurs when an individual enters a property with the intent to commit a criminal offense. They can be charged with a first, second, or third-degree felony.
Penalties for first-degree charges will include up to life in prison. A second-degree burglary charge will have penalties of up to 15 years in prison and 15 years of probation and a fine of $10,000. A penalty of 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation and a $5,000 will be given to anyone who is charged with third-degree burglary.
In Florida, grand theft is defined as the unlawful and intentional taking of property that is valued at $300 or more. They can be charged with a first, second, or third-degree felony.
Penalties will vary based on how severe the grand theft was. A first-degree charge will be punished with up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Those charged with a second degree will receive up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation and a fine of $10,000. The third-degree grand theft will be charged with up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation, and a fine of $5,000.
Criminal mischief, also known as vandalism, occurs when a person willfully causes injury or damage to any property that belongs to another person.
Criminal mischief can be charged with a first or second-degree misdemeanor or a third-degree felony. A second-degree misdemeanor charge will be penalized with up to 60 days in jail. A penalty of up to one year in jail will be given to those with a first-degree charge. A third-degree felony charge will result in up to 5 years in prison.
Musca Law Firm
Musca Law Firm, located in various cities in Florida, wants to see you if you have been charged with any criminal offense. Our attorneys are dedicated to helping you succeed in your case. We offer a free initial case consultation and accept phone calls 24 hours a day.
Our attorneys will develop the best possible defense for you. We will fight for your rights and go head-to-head with the prosecution to get you a favorable outcome. Don’t hesitate to call us today at (888) 484-5057 to speak with one of our highly-qualified attorneys.
RESULT: The Musca Law Defense Attorney was successful at convincing the Prosecutor to agree to a DISMISSAL of charges!