Client’s New Car Purchase Yields Criminal Traffic ViolationsCharges Dismissed!
Defendant purchased a vehicle and failed to transfer the registration and tag over to his name. Defendant received two criminal charges of Tag Not Assigned and No Registration, as well as a civil infraction for Failure to Display Registration.
Tag Not Assigned and No Registration
Under Florida law, Statutes section 320.261, it is a second-degree misdemeanor to drive a vehicle that has a tag on it that does not belong on it. Whenever a vehicle is owned in the state of Florida, it must bear a tag that was assigned to the person driving the car, or it must have been transferred lawfully. This offense can be punishable by up to 60 days in jail, although typically, on a first offense, jail time will not be given.
The Harm of a Second-Degree Misdemeanor
A misdemeanor can haunt an individual for the rest of their lives. This charge is on an individual’s record for the rest of their lives. If you have a misdemeanor, you take the risk of being evicted from a house or apartment that you are renting. Those with misdemeanors may not be eligible for financial aid, and you may have trouble when applying for jobs. If you have a criminal record, you are required by law to mark it on your job application if it asks for this information.
Obtaining Registration and A Tag In Florida
In order to register your car and place a tag on it, you will need to first have a valid Florida driver’s license. You will also need insurance from an agent that is licensed to sell in Florida, with a minimum of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability Insurance on all vehicles that are registered. This information will need to be brought to your local Florida tax county collector. You will also need to have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), along with a physical verification of the vehicle. This can be done by a law enforcement agent, a licensed Florida or out of state car dealership, a notary commissioned by Florida, a Provost Marshall, or a Florida DMV employee. The title will be needed as well, along with the application for the certificate of title. If the vehicle was purchased less than 6 months ago, the bill of sale should also accompany this information.
If you have been charged with Tag Not Assigned, No Registration, or failure to display registration, Musca Law office wants to hear from you. We take pride in having many of our cases charges either lowered or completely eliminated. We have many years of experience and will work hard to fight for your rights.
RESULT: The Attorney advocated on behalf of the Defendant, showing proof that the Defendant obtained the registration and tag the day after he was ticketed. The State agreed to a judicial warning on the two criminal traffic infractions and withheld adjudication on the Failure to Display Registration charge.