Driver Caught Speeding, Fail Field Sobriety TestsNo DUI Conviction!
Client was charged with DUI (Driving Under the Influence), after being caught speeding 40 mph in a 25 mph zone. The Officer who conducted the traffic stop smelled a strong odor of alcohol coming from the Driver’s breath. It was also observed that the Driver had bloodshot, watery eyes and that his face was flushed. When asked by the Officer if he had been drinking, our Client denied the charge but then admitted that he “had three or four beers.” The officer informed our client that he would be conducting a DUI investigation. After agreeing to field sobriety exercises and failing, the Client was placed under arrest for DUI and was transported to jail.
Signs of Impaired/Drunk Driving
There are many different signs of impaired or drunk driving that law enforcement looks for when determining if a vehicle should be pulled over. These signs include the following:
- Making illegal or fast turns
- Failing to turn headlights on at nighttime
- Responding slowly to traffic signals
- Sudden braking
- Turning with a wide radius
- Weaving or drifting in traffic
- Driving with one’s face close to the windshield
- Driving in the center of the road
- Nearly hitting other vehicles
- Driving very slow
- Rapid accelerating
- Driving on places other than roads that are not designed for a vehicle
- Driving abruptly
- Driving on the wrong side of the road
DUI Charges in Florida
DUI charges in Florida are serious. For a first offense, there are many penalties. These include a fine between $500 and $1,000 along with jail time. A first-time offender may only have to spend the night in jail, or they could be given six months behind bars. There is also probation to think about, which can be up to one year.
Your car will also be impounded for ten days. A judge will require that mandatory community service be done for a total of 50 hours. And then there is the license suspension, which could be anywhere from 180 days to one year.
A judge is allowed at their discretion to determine if an ignition interlock device is installed in the vehicle. However, for most first-time offenders, this is not a penalty that is given. Oftentimes, the offender will need to take DUI schooling and complete an alcohol or drug treatment program that has been recommended.
Musca Law Firm
If you have been pulled over for drunk driving, please call Musca Law Firm. Our track record with DUI cases is very impressive. We take the time to listen to our clients in order to thoroughly review their entire case. We will then devise a strategic defense to use in court on their behalf. Our law firm has numerous lawyers that collaborate together on various cases to have the maximum impact on the court case. The number one aim of our firm is to find a solution that is favorable for our clients, of either having your charges reduced or dismissed. Please call us today at (888) 484-5057 for a free case consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
RESULT: The attorney successfully negotiated on behalf of our client, that the State reduce the DUI charge to reckless driving, resulting in a small fine and minimal court costs. No DUI Conviction!