Driver Faces 5-Year Suspension for Habitual Driving on Suspended LicenseNO CONVICTION!
Officers stopped a Driver for driving without a headlight at 1 o’clock in the morning. The Driver possessed a suspended license with two prior Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License charges. The Defendant faced a habitual traffic offender conviction and a five-year license suspension.
Habitual Traffic Offenders in Florida
In Florida, a habitual traffic offender is defined as a person who has three or more convictions of traffic offenses in a period of five years or less. These offenses include:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- A felony that resulted from driving a vehicle
- Driving while a driver’s license was revoked or suspended
- Failing to stop and give aid during a motor vehicle accident
- Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
- Operating a commercial vehicle when not qualified to so do
- Receiving 15 moving violations in 5 years or less
If a person is labeled as a habitual traffic offender, they will face losing their license for 5 years. You could potentially face a third-degree felony charge as well. The felony charge penalties would include 5 years in jail, fines up to $5,000, or both.
The Point System
Florida has a point system that is assigned to various offenses. When excessive points are accumulated, a person is more likely to become a habitual traffic offender.
The following is an example of Florida’s Point System:
- Six points will be given for anyone that causes a crash due to speeding
- Six points will be given for anyone that leaves the scene of an accident where there is property damage that is worth $50 or more
- Four points are given for reckless driving, running a red light, or having an accident that is caused by a moving violation
- Four points will be given if you pass a stopped school bus or are driving during restricted hours
- Four points are given if you are speeding by 15 mph or more over the limit
- Three points are given for toll violations, driving with an open container of alcohol, or a child-restraint violation
- Three points will be given if one is speeding by over 14 mph or less over the limit
Musca Law Firm
If you have been pulled over and charged with driving on a suspended license, Musca Law Firm wants to hear from you. We answer all our phone calls 24 hours a day. Our firm has well over 150 years of combined legal experience between all our attorneys. We pride ourselves in providing the best defenses for our clients, which are always strong, strategic, and aggressive. We believe in our clients’ freedom and have a track record to prove that we are able to protect your legal rights. Please call us today at (888) 484-5057 for a free consultation with one of our experienced attorneys. Our firm serves all of Florida with several offices located in various cities for your convenience.
RESULT: The Musca Law Defense Attorney convinced the State to reduce the charges down to Driving Without a Valid License. The Attorney obtained a NO CONVICTION on the charges, no points on the client’s license, no jail time, and no additional license suspension.