Driver Ticketed for Reckless Driving at 1:00 A.M.Charge Dropped!
Police spotted our Client’s vehicle at 1:00 a.m. and stopped him for driving too fast for wet road conditions. Our Client was asked to perform field sobriety tests and he showed no signs of impairment. The Police charged him with Reckless Driving.
Reckless Driving in Florida
Reckless driving is defined as driving a vehicle in a manner that disregards the safety of others. The driver knows they are being reckless, but still chooses to do so. While some disregard reckless driving as a charge that is not serious, it will go on your record so it does in fact have lasting impact.
Examples of Reckless Driving
There are many examples of reckless driving, including the following:
- Illegal passing
- Driving without the use of headlights in adverse conditions (i.e. when foggy, at nighttime, etc)
- Racing cars
- Not paying attention to the road
- Passing on blind curves
- Passing a school bus that has their stop sign put out
- Ignoring railroad barriers
- Speeding at least 25 miles per hour over the posted speed limit
- Weaving through traffic
- Ignoring traffic signals and signs
- Driving a vehicle that you know has faulty brakes
Factors For Reckless Driving
If you have been charged with reckless driving, the courts will look at different factors that could play into if you were driving recklessly or not. These include the following:
- Weather conditions for that day
- Time of day
- Whether there were people present or not
- Whether the driver was driving safe or not
- Whether the driver’s act was beyond mere negligence
Penalties and Consequences for Reckless Driving
The penalties for reckless driving will depend on a variety of factors.
A first offense charge of reckless driving that did not involve any bodily injury or property damage will result in a second-degree misdemeanor. This will receive up to 90 days in jail, 6 months of probation, and a fine of $500.
A second or subsequent charge will result in a second-degree misdemeanor with up to 6 months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
Property damage or injury will result in a first-degree misdemeanor. This will be charged with up to 1 year in jail, 12 months probation, and a fine of $1,000.
Serious bodily injury will result in a felony of the third degree. The offender will receive up to 5 years in jail or 5 years probation, and a fine of $5,000.
Musca Law Firm Attorneys
If you have been charged with reckless driving, your best interest is to hire a lawyer that can defend your rights. Our attorneys at Musca Law Firm can do just that for you. Our lawyers have over 150 years of combined legal experience, which means that we are capable of doing whatever it takes to find results that are favorable for you. Some of our perks include a free initial case consultation, having offices in various cities across the state of Florida, and answering our phones 24 hours a day. Don’t hesitate to contact us at (888) 484-5057 in order to speak with one of our experienced lawyers today.
RESULT: The Musca Law Defense Attorney aggressively challenged the evidence against our Client, and the State agreed to DROP THE CHARGE!