Naples DUI Lawyers
DUI Defense, Over 150 Years of Experience
Naples criminal defense attorneys at Musca Law have successfully defended thousands of clients who have been charged with drunk driving in Florida. See our case results page for examples of how we have helped people accused of DUI and other serious criminal charges. People who have been charged with Driving Under the Influence in Naples or in Collier County may want to learn more about DUI laws in Naples, we provide up to date information including DUI laws, penalties and successful defense strategies/. Get answers to important legal questions.
DUI Attorneys in Naples – Keep Driving Privileges
People who have been charged with DUI in Naples have a limited number of days to protect their driving privileges. People will face DUI criminal hearings and DMV formal administrative review hearings. People should be most concerned with protecting their reputation and maintaining their driving privileges.
Driving Under the Influence in Naples (DUI) [Florida Statute 316.193]
Pursuant to Florida Statutes Section 316.193, a person can be convicted of a DUI offense in Naples if the prosecution can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that they were:
- Driving or physically in control of a vehicle; and,
- The blood alcohol concentration or BAC was .08 percent or more.
In Naples Florida, a person can also be convicted if they were driving while impaired to some degree as a result of drugs, alcohol, or a combination of both. In addition, it is important to note that an individual can be convicted of DUI in Naples for simply being in physical control of a vehicle. In other words, the person does not need to be operating the vehicle to be convicted.
Collier County Driving Under the Influence Defense Attorneys
In Naples, being convicted of DUI can result in severe penalties that include fines and jail time, community service and probation. Here are some of the penalties a person might receive for a first-time DUI conviction:
- Fines of up to $2,000.
- Jail time. If blood alcohol concentration was between .08 and .15 percent, a person could face jail time of up to six months. If the BAC was .15 percent or more, or if there was a minor in the vehicle, a person could end up with nine months in jail.
- A ten-day vehicle impoundment.
- Suspension of Driver’s license.
- Mandatory completion of a substance abuse class.
- Community service.
- Use of an Ignition Interlock Device on the vehicle for up to six months.
Naples, FL - Second-Time DUI Defense Lawyers
According to Florida’s statutes which govern Naples, if in less than five years, an individual is convicted of a second DUI offense, some of the penalties they might receive are more serious than those they faced for a first-time DUI. Second DUI convictions are still considered misdemeanor offenses but depending on the facts and circumstances of the case, an individual could face fines of up to $2,000 and be in jail for up to a year. Some of the other consequences of a conviction can include suspension of driving privileges, probation, impoundment of the vehicle, mandatory completion of a substance abuse course, and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device.
Felony DUI Defense Attorneys in Naples, Florida
DUIs in Naples are usually a misdemeanor offense but a person could also be charged with a felony depending on the circumstances and facts of the case. In Florida, according to Statute 316.193 a DUI might be considered a felony if:
- The accused had three DUIs in less than ten years;
- The DUI is fourth or subsequent DUI;
- If the person seriously injured someone because of the DUI;
- Someone was killed because of the DUI.
The consequences of a felony DUI conviction can include fines of up to $5,000 and jail time of up to five years.
Naples Attorneys – DUI Manslaughter Penalties
Also, notably, in Naples Florida, there is a DUI classification that involves manslaughter. DUI manslaughter is a second-degree felony. If an individual is convicted of DUI manslaughter, they can face up to $10,000 in fines and a jail sentence of up to fifteen years. It is a first-degree felony if the person leaves the scene of an accident after committing DUI manslaughter, and the penalties they might face can include fines of up to $10,000 and up to thirty years in prison.
Naples Boating Under the Influence Defense (BUI) Attorneys
Boating Under the Influence Offenses in Naples Florida
Did you know that you can also be arrested and charged with Boating Under the Influence in Naples? Section 327.35 of the Florida Statutes governs Boating Under the Influence or BUI. Similar to a DUI offense in Naples, a person can be convicted of a BUI if the prosecution can establish that they operated a vessel while impaired or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. The consequences of a first-time BUI conviction can include fines of up to $1,000, and up to six months in jail. Also similar to DUIs, the penalties for a BUI conviction become harsher depending on the facts of the case and whether they have been convicted of BUI previously.