FORT LAUDERDALE, FL (December 5, 2019) – According to an online news report at local10.com, a man from South Florida has been placed under arrest for leaving the scene of an accident involving a pedestrian. The accident occurred on the night of Thanksgiving.
The police indicate that the accident occurred right before 10:00 p.m. on Sunrise Boulevard. A witness was able to obtain the license plate number of the vehicle, which left the scene after hitting the pedestrian. Police were able to locate the driver, a male, at his home address after looking up his license plate number, which provided that the suspect vehicle was a black 2003 Mercedes-Benz. The vehicle was registered in his name.
When the police arrived at the suspect’s home, they noticed that the man’s vehicle had a shattered windshield as well as blood on the vehicle. Police note that the man admitted to committing the hit-and-run accident as well as driving with a license that had been revoked.
The man was arrested and is facing felony charges. There could be additional charges if the victim, who is currently listed in critical condition, does not survive the accident. The victim, who has not been identified in the report, is not expected to recover.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida
Under Florida Statutes Section 316.062, it is a serious criminal traffic violation to be involved in an accident and then flee the scene. Specifically, if you are in an accident, you are required to stop as well as provide your name, address, car registration information, and driver’s license to the other individual involved in the accident. You must stop if there is property damage and also, if there are injuries and/or fatalities. In this instance, you must provide reasonable assistance to the victims by calling 911 and arranging for medical care. If you do not follow these steps, as required under Florida law, you could be charged with leaving the scene of an accident.
The punishment associated with this serious traffic criminal offense includes the suspension of your driver’s license, imprisonment, probation, and heavy fines. If convicted, your insurance premiums will likely increase by a significant amount, which can become a serious financial burden.
If you commit a hit-and-run offense, you could be charged with either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending upon the facts and circumstances of the accident. Leaving the scene of an accident that involves only property damage constitutes a second-degree felony, which carries with it a penalty of up to 60 days in prison and/or a monetary fine of $500. Leaving the scene of an accident involving injuries is a third-degree felony, which carries with it a penalty of up to five years in jail and/or $5,000 in monetary fines. Additionally, leaving the scene of a crash that results in death is punishable as a first-degree felony, which carries with it a sentence of up to 30 years in jail and/or a $10,000 monetary fine.