Banker Refuses Urine Test, Arrested For DUILicense Reinstated!
A banker was pulled over and refused to take a urine test. He was then arrested for a DUI charge, which is classified as a misdemeanor.
DUI Charges in Florida
A DUI (driving under the influence) charge in Florida will involve many consequences and penalties if the offender has been convicted. This will include possible jail time, a substantial fee, twelve months of probation, and a permanent criminal record. You will also face having your insurance rates raised by your insurance company, and you will lose your driver’s license. You will most likely be given 50 hours of community service to complete, as well as be required to complete DUI schooling. The DUI schooling will teach offenders how to be more responsible with alcohol, as well as how alcohol and other substances affect your driving. Your car will also be impounded for up to ten days on a first DUI charge.
The results of the breathalyzer test will decide how long an offender’s driver’s license is suspended for. If a .08 or higher is blown, the offender will lose their driver’s license for six to twelve months for a first offense. If a .15 or higher was blown, and there is a minor in the car with the offender, there may be up to 9 months of jail time, along with $1,000 to $2,000 in fines, and an IID (interlock ignition device) will be installed on the car. This device will only allow the car to start if there is no alcohol detected on the offender’s breath.
Arrested for DUI Charges
After an arrest has been made for DUI charges, the offender will be taken to the local police department or the county jail. The offender will be booked, photographs will be taken, and fingerprinting will be done. At this time, all necessary paperwork will be filled out.
Pending a court hearing, the offender may be held in custody. The hearing will usually happen within 24 hours of the arrest. It is a wise move to mentally document everything any police staff does in case proper procedures were not followed.
A lawyer should be present when any questions are asked by law enforcement. DUI offenders do not need to answer any questions or tell what happened without having representation.
Hiring Musca Law
If you have been charged with DUI, you need a lawyer that will represent you. You should contact a lawyer as soon as possible, as you only have 10 days after being arrested to file for a hardship license or work permit. At Musca Law, we have several years of experience, along with many different defenses that we can explore for you. We will take the time to listen to you, and then develop a plan of action with the hopes of having the charges reduced significantly or dropped altogether.
Results: After hiring Musca Law, our attorneys went against the prosecution, and our client had his license reinstated.