Client Crashes and Flips other Car, Fails Field Sobriety ExercisesNo DUI Conviction!
A Collier County Sheriff’s Officer was dispatched to the scene of an accident involving an overturned vehicle. Our client had been driving 30 mph when she lost control of her vehicle while coming from around a corner. When approached by an officer, she was confused as to what had happened and was worried about the well-being of her dog. She had refused to be treated or transported by EMS. It was reported by the officer that our client’s pupils were dilated and that she had an odor of alcohol emitting from her facial area. The officer asked if she had been drinking and she volunteered that she had imbibed three glasses of wine and had taken the bipolar medication Clonopin. Our client poorly performed the field sobriety exercises she was asked to do by the police. Our client was then handcuffed (double locked) and charged with DUI – Property Damage.
DUI- Property Damage in Florida
A DUI charge (driving under the influence) with property damage in Florida is a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties for this infraction include up to 12 months in jail and a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000. Other penalties include up to 12 months of probation, 10 days of car impoundment, and a minimum of 6 months in jail with a maximum of 12 months of driver’s license suspension. Fifty hours of community service is also required for a first-time DUI offender. Some judges may allow the individual to buy the time at a rate of $10+ per hour if they are not able to complete the community service. A 12 hour DUI course must be completed. An ignition interlock device will also need to be installed on all vehicles that are owned by the offender for a minimum of 6 months with a maximum of one year. Vehicles that are routinely used by the offender will also need to have an IID installed in them.
This crime is committed when an individual that is in control of a vehicle is under the influence of alcohol or any other controlled substance that affects a person’s normal ability to drive. The individual may also commit this crime if they have a breath or blood level of .08% or higher. The charge of property damage will be added to the DUI if they cause any damage to the property of another person.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, you will need legal representation from a skilled and experienced attorney. As DUI charges are serious and can affect your permanent record, it is in your best interest to contact a respected lawyer immediately. Musca Law Firm serves the entire state of Florida. We have successfully won many DUI cases, negotiating with the state to reduce or drop charges. We have offices located in many cities and offer a free, no-obligation initial consultation to new clients. Our phones are answered 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Do not hesitate to contact us today to determine how our legal services may best support you and your needs.
RESULT: We convinced the State to drop the DUI charge. No DUI Conviction!