Mexican Immigrant Charged with Expired Driver’s LicenseNO CONVICTION!
Our client resided in Florida for over 17 years and had a valid driver’s license during that time period. A delay in his application for a VISA caused a change in his immigration status and he was not allowed to renew his driver’s license. The Police stopped Defendant because his vehicle had a broken taillight. They issued a warning for a broken taillight and charged him with driving with an Expired License for more than 4 months.
Driving With an Expired License
If you are stopped and found to be driving with an expired license you will be charged. The state of Florida does have some leeway in that you have up to 6 months after your license expires before you are charged with violating the law. However, it is still an infraction and you will be fined $30.
If after this 6 month period, you are driving with an expired license, it will be a criminal violation. You will be fined up to $500 and could face spending up to 60 days in the county jail. You may also receive up to 6 months of probation.
Renewal of an Expired License
In Florida, a driver’s license is good for a period of 8 years. Renewal fees are set at $48 and can be renewed for up to 18 months prior to the expiration date. As stated above, there is a grace period of 6 months after it expires.
An expired license can be renewed at your local driver’s license office, online, or by mail. You are only eligible to renew either by mail or online once.
When renewing in person, you will need to bring with you your old driver’s license for ID. You will also need proof of your date of birth, social security number, and residential address.
Documents accepted for proof of date of birth include:
- U.S. Birth Certificate
- Valid U.S. Passport (or Passport Card)
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
Documents accepted for proof of social security numbers include:
- Social Security card
- W-2 form
- SSA 1099
- Any 1099 that is
- not handwritten
Documents accepted for proof of residential address include:
- Monthly mortgage statement
- Florida Voter Registration card
- Medical or health card (which shows address)
- School transcript forms for the current school year
- W-2 form
- Selective Service card
Two documents for proof of residential address will be needed.
Musca Law Firm
At Musca Law Firm, we aim to find a favorable outcome for your case. In many cases we have successfully had all charges dropped or significantly lowered. Our attorneys are working hard to develop the best possible defense relevant to your case. We will then expose any weaknesses on the prosecution’s side.
We feel we should be reachable at all hours of the day, so we have a 24 hour answering service. We have extended night hours and weekend appointments available. Our philosophy ensures we give you a personal experience. Please call us today to set up your free initial consultation. We serve all of Florida and have offices located in various cities.
RESULT: The Attorney persuaded the State to withhold adjudication and our Client received NO FORMAL FINDING OF GUILT.