Driving on a Suspended License
Let Our Florida Traffic Offenses Attorney Defend Your Driving RightsOccasionally, one of the punishments for a traffic offense or driving under the influence (DUI) charge is a license suspension. However, people might continue to do so because they don’t realize the license has been suspended or they need to get to and from their place of work. If you’ve been accused of driving on a suspended license, make sure to hire a skilled Florida traffic offenses attorney to help you defend your rights. Conviction of driving on a suspended license can be expensive.
Talk to us about your case in a free consultation. Contact us at (800) 687-2252 or fill out our online form today.
PenaltiesIn Florida, it is illegal to drive on with a suspended or revoked license. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, it could also be considered a misdemeanor or a felony charge. Florida law tends to be harsher on repeat offenders. For first-time and second-time offenses, you would be convicted of a misdemeanor, which will result in imprisonment for up to 60 days and/ or a fine of up to $500. Third-time offenses are felonies and will lead to a prison sentence of up to 5 years and/ or a fine of up to $5,000.
DefensesMistakes have been made before regarding driving with a suspended or revoked license. A prosecutor who can’t prove you knewyour license was suspended or revoked has no case. He or she must have documentation you received a notification from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you didn’t receive a notification from the DMV, you would have no way of knowing that your license had been suspended until someone, such as a law enforcement officer, checked your driving records.
Provisionary LicenseIf you do need a license to drive while your official license is suspended, you can get a Conditional (Hardship) License. This type of license allows you to drive under limited circumstances, usually for work or essential household duties. To get one of these, you would need to file a petition with the Florida court, which may require additional requirements, such as a driver training course.
Call a Skilled Defender Today!If you’re facing jail time, you will need an experienced Florida criminal defense attorney on your side. Musca Law has more than 150 years of combined legal experience to offer you and your case. Our lawyers are dedicated to defending the rights and freedom of our clients with tenacious advocacy and skill. Let us see what we can do for you in a free case consultation.
Contact us at (800) 687-2252 or fill out our online form to schedule your FREE case review today.