JACKSONVILLE, FL (March 11, 2020) – According to an online news report provided by News4Jax.com, a Jacksonville, Florida man was arrested in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. The man is facing numerous criminal offenses according to the St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office. The man was questioned by the St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office, and during the conversation with the man, law enforcement officer conducted a search of the man´s vehicle and found a stolen handgun and marijuana inside the man´s sport-utility vehicle.
According to the online news article, the stop occurred around 8:20 a.m. and a St. Johns County Sheriff’s deputy spotted a Ford Escape with an illegal license plate. The St. Johns County Sheriff’s deputy approached the owner who was parked off A1A. The man admitted to the St. Johns County Sheriff’s deputy that he had an expired Florida driver´s license and that he had marijuana in his possession. It was later discovered that the man was also wanted on a warrant in New Jersey. The warrant for his arrest was issued for traffic violations.
The St. Johns County Sheriff’s deputy conducted a search of the man´s SUV and found two glass marijuana pipes, a marijuana grinder, and a stolen 9mm handgun. The illegal items were discovered under the driver´s seat according to the arrest report.
The suspect stated that he had purchased the gun for $275 and had no reason to believe the gun was stolen according to the police report. However, the St. Johns County Sheriff’s deputy wrote in the report that this handgun was reported as stolen in Jacksonville.
The man was placed under arrest on charges of failure to register a motor vehicle, attaching an unassigned license plate, marijuana possession, carrying a concealed weapon, and paraphernalia possession. The man posted a $4,400 bond and was released from the St. Johns County jail a couple of days after the arrest.
Florida Unlicensed Carrying of Concealed Weapons or Concealed Firearms Charges, Laws and Penalties
According to Florida Statute 790.01(2), it is a crime (Carrying a Concealed Firearm) for an individual to knowingly carry a firearm that is concealed from the ordinary view of another individual without having a valid concealed carry license.
The Fines, Punishments, and Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Firearm in Florida
Illegally Carrying a Concealed Firearm in the State of Florida is a first-degree misdemeanor. If an individual is found guilty and convicted of Carrying a Concealed Firearm in the State of Florida, the judge, in the criminal case, may issue the following penalties:
- Up to $1,000 in fines.
- Up to one (1) year in jail.
- Probation following incarceration.
An individual in Florida is permitted to conceal carry the following as long as the individual is not committing a crime are:
- A chemical self-defense spray.
- A dart-firing stun gun or nonlethal stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device used exclusively for self-defensive.
Arrested? Contact Our Criminal Defense Law Firm
If you or a loved one has been arrested for Carrying a Concealed Firearm in Florida, call Musca Law for your free case review.