Voyeurism charges (also known as Peeping Tom Criminal Charges) are serious criminal charges that can be beaten! Peeping Tom or Voyeurism is a crime in the State of Florida that involves secretly observing someone else who is in a private state with the purpose of receiving sexual gratification. According to Florida Statutes Section 810.14, Voyeurism also includes filming people and making videos in a place where privacy is to be expected, such as bathrooms, dressing rooms, tanning beds, or private residences, without the knowledge of the person who is changing clothes disrobing, or undressing. A perpetrator is also committing voyeurism when the offender uses a camera to view, take photographs, record video, or take images up a woman's dress, into a hotel room, or into another private place.
Most voyeurism criminal cases involve the accuser and the accused, who do not usually know each other. However, some voyeurism criminal charges are asserted by ex-spouses, former employees, or former lovers who state that they have been a victim of voyeurism, "revenge" porn, or video voyeurism. Revenge porn is a very serious crime where the perpetrator published explicit photos or videos online with the victim's full name and other personal information.
Video voyeurism and voyeurism are very serious criminal offenses that are severely punished in the State of Florida. In fact, voyeurism crimes are regarded so seriously by the criminal justice system that some law enforcement officers and prosecutors receive specific education in order to investigate and prosecute these kinds of criminal offenses more effectively.
Should you, a family member, or a friend have been arrested for voyeurism, contact Musca Law and discuss your case with one of our Florida voyeurism defense lawyers.
Voyeurism Criminal Offense Penalties and Punishments in Florida
A first-time conviction of voyeurism is typically charged as a first-degree misdemeanor. In Florida, first-degree misdemeanor voyeurism is penalized with a jail sentence of up to one year, a year of probation, and up to a $1,000 fine. If the voyeurism defendant has been arrested for a second or succeeding voyeurism charge, that individual will be charged with a felony in the third-degree. A felony voyeurism charge in the third-degree is penalized with a fine of up to $5,000, a jail sentence of up to five years, and up to five years of probation.
Penalties for a Video Voyeurism Conviction in Florida
When an offender has been arrested and charged with a first-time video voyeurism offense, the suspect will probably be charged with first-degree misdemeanor video voyeurism. A first-degree misdemeanor video voyeurism charge is penalized with one year of probation, up to one year in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000. If an offender has been arrested for a second or a subsequent video voyeurism criminal charge, the offender will probably be charged with a third-degree felony. A third-degree felony video voyeurism conviction is penalized with up to five years of probation, up to five years in jail, and a fine of up to $5,000.
Musca Law provides a high level of personalized service and attention. We always keep you updated about important case developments. Contact the experienced criminal defense lawyers at Musca Law 24/7 at (888) 484-5057 to receive your free case consultation today.