For Your Free Consultation with Our Best DUI Defense Attorneys in Tallahassee
Tallahassee is Florida's state capital. Tallahassee is located along Interstate 10 in the northern portion of Florida, between Pensacola and Jacksonville. There are 4 main colleges in Tallahassee, Florida. They are Florida State University, Tallahassee Community College, Flagler College - Tallahassee, and Florida A&M University. listed and described below. These colleges serve about 67,500 or more full-time and part-time students. The student body is comprised of in-state, out-of-state, and international students.
Florida colleges are very popular because the colleges have stellar reputations for quality academic curriculum, athletics, and many things to do, such as beaches and word-class theme parks within driving distance. All college students in Tallahassee are on a brand-new path to independence, which brings both responsibilities and rewards. Part of that freedom involves consuming alcohol. Some college students believe one "reward" is being able to consume alcohol without getting caught by parents. Even though Florida's legal drinking age is 21-years-old, a lot of college students will attend parties and drink alcohol even though they are under the legal limit. The "responsibility" that comes with the consumption of alcohol is avoiding driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Young adults and teenagers are notorious for making errors, and making mistakes is an important part of life. Driving under the influence is one avoidable mistake that many college students make in Tallahassee. However, an error such as driving under the influence should not destroy a college student's future. While some punishments will be warranted, such as probation, community service, and counseling, a college student (particularly a student who does not have a criminal record) should not be sentenced to serve time in jail. Depending on the seriousness of the alleged crime, and with the help of an experienced Tallahassee DUI Defense Lawyer, a DUI charge could be reduced to a less severe criminal offense that will not have the same long-term consequences and stigma and as a DUI conviction.
Florida's DUI Laws Concerning College Students and Young Adults
Florida's legal blood-alcohol content (BAC) is under 0.08% for drivers of the legal drinking age. If an adult 21-years-old or older has a BAC level equal to or greater than 0.08, the driver may be arrested and charged with a DUI. In Florida, driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is a first-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 for a first DUI conviction. Depending on the circumstances, the prosecutor or the judge involved in a suspect's DUI case could also punish the driver with additional punishments such as probation, community service, the loss of a driver's license for one year, and the requirement to install an ignition interlock device on the driver's car.
Felony DUIs According to Florida Law
If a college student has prior DUI convictions in Florida or in another state, the penalties of a third or fourth conviction can be disastrous to his or her future. Moreover, a conviction of a third DUI offense within ten years of a previous DUI conviction or the conviction of a fourth DUI offense (within ten years or not) becomes a felony. These offenses are third-degree felonies in Florida and carry a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Should a college student be charged with driving under the influence and was in an accident that caused another person to suffer serious bodily injury, the DUI charge will then become a third-degree felony. If an alleged DUI results in a fatal accident, the DUI charge becomes a DUI manslaughter charge, which is punished as a second-degree felony under Florida law. Some crimes result in mandatory minimum prison time from a minimum of four years in prison to a sentence of a maximum of fifteen years. Also, a DUI conviction results in the imposition of a fine of up to $10,000.
Defending Against Tough Prosecutors in a Tallahassee DUI Case
Because Tallahassee prosecutors and judges are often unpredictable cases of college students facing DUI charges, whether you or your child are facing a first, second, or subsequent offense, you should retain a private Tallahassee DUI Defense Lawyer to handle the case. An experienced DUI defense attorney will withstand the tactics and aggression of prosecutors. The best DUI lawyer in Tallahassee has excellent negotiating skills and will seek a result that is fair to the defendant given the facts of the DUI case. From the moment of the arrest to the first justice court appearance, your Florida DUI Defense Attorney should have a solid defense strategy to help the accused college student defend themselves from a scary and challenging time.
The Long-Lasting Consequences of a DUI Conviction for College Students
A DUI conviction is a serious enough offense for anyone, regardless of whether that individual is a child, adult, or a college student. However, college students are trying to obtain a college degree, and they plan to begin a career soon after graduation. However, a DUI conviction on a college graduate's record can make it very difficult to obtain a good job, obtain credit, obtain some professional licenses, rent an apartment, or apply to graduate school. To evade the harshest punishments permissible under Florida law, college students and/or parents of college students should retain a private defense attorney who can use all possible means to reach the least harsh result possible.
Why You Need a Tallahassee DUI Defense Lawyer Even if You Don't Live in Tallahassee
Many college students attending school in Tallahassee are not from Florida. Notwithstanding where college students permanently reside, if a student is facing a DUI charge, he or she must retain an experienced Tallahassee DUI Defense Attorney who represents clients in DUI cases across the entire state. Parents who learn of their child's DUI charge should act quickly to find an experienced DUI attorney to handle the matter on their kid's behalf. Depending on the facts of the DUI charge, the student might be able to avoid having to appear in court during the series of hearings. It is important to act quickly to address the DUI criminal charge to prevent an arrest warrant from being issued, which would be applicable in any state in the United States.
Our firm has over thirty locations throughout Florida at Musca Law, and we are located in every college town, including Tallahassee. Parents can count on Musca Law to assist their child's criminal defense needs. Not all criminal defense law firms in Tallahassee have the resources to reach state-wide clients. However, Musca Law can uniquely handle client's legal needs throughout the state.
Speak with Our Tallahassee DUI Defense Attorneys Today at No Charge!
If you are a college student facing a Florida DUI charge or are the parent of a student facing a Florida DUI charge. In that case, regardless of whether you live inside or outside the state of Florida – it is imperative to act quickly to speak with a qualified Florida DUI Defense Lawyer. At Musca Law, our DUI Defense Lawyers take all necessary steps to advocate for their clients and protect their clients' rights. To find out how our Florida DUI Defense Lawyers may be able to help you, contact our office today by calling (850) 900-2142. Our attorneys are available 24/7 to speak with you.