Trust Our Experienced Florida DUI Attorneys
Almost 33% of all drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) are repeat offenders. Florida’s laws increase the punishments for each subsequent DUI conviction, which means a 2nd or 3rd charge will be even more expensive and time-consuming than the last. If you’re looking at another DUI sentence, make sure you have experienced representation to defend your rights.
For a full list of DUI penalties, see our other Florida DUI Penalties page. There are also other consequences that could occur with a 2nd, 3rd, or 4th DUI arrest. If your license was suspended at the time of a subsequent DUI, this means you were driving without a license, which has additional punishments. There are two ways the court could charge you if you were found driving on a suspended license:
- Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) Without Knowledge
- Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) With Knowledge
DWLS without knowledge is a misdemeanor, which could add fines and jail time to your DUI punishment. The court would rule your crime as a civil infraction if you were unaware your license had been suspended before you drove. However, if it’s your third offense, even if you were unaware of the suspension, you will be charged with a felony. DWLS with knowledge is a more serious offense and will be regarded as a criminal infraction (2nd-degree misdemeanor) and a major moving violation. A 2nd-degree misdemeanor could mean 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 in addition to your DUI sentence.
Call Us at (888) 484-5057 Today
Multiple DUIs have serious consequences. Your driver license could be completely revoked as could some professional licenses. You may also be ineligible for any jobs who look at your driving record as proof of responsibility. Make sure you protect your future. Contact us today for a free case consultation. We’ll fight for your freedom.