Florida Disorderly Conduct Penalties
Disorderly conduct – also known as breach of peace – is used to regulate conduct in public places in Florida. State laws forbid public acts which corrupt public morals, violates standards of public decency, or affect the peace and quiet of others. Furthermore, these laws allow those who participate in public fights or brawls to be prosecuted.
Common examples of disorderly conduct include the following:
- Disturbing the peace
- Inciting a riot
- Fighting or physical altercations
- Loitering in specific areas
- Obstructing traffic
- Use of extremely obscene or abusive language
- Loud or unreasonable noise
Penalties for Disorderly Conduct
In Florida, disorderly conduct is often considered a second-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 60 days and a fine of up to $500. However, certain kinds of actions warrant harsher convictions.
Public fighting is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000. Inciting a riot is a third-degree felony, which is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Let Our Florida Criminal Defense Lawyer Protect Your Rights
Whether you were acting out of self-defense or exercising your First Amendment right to freedom of speech, Musca Law is ready to investigate your arrest, collect evidence, and develop an effective defense strategy to obtain the most favorable outcome possible. With more than 150 years of collective experience, our legal team understands what it takes to either get your charges reduced or your case dismissed entirely.
If you were arrested for disorderly conduct, contact our Florida criminal defense lawyer at Musca Law today.