Reckless Driving

Fight for Your Rights with Our Florida Traffic Offenses Attorneys

Any person that drives a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of other people can be charged with reckless driving. If you’re facing an accusation of this kind of crime, don’t hesitate to talk to our skilled Florida traffic offenses attorneys today. Depending on the circumstances, a reckless driving charge can lead to severe penalties. Start helping yourself by mounting a defense early. Musca Law has more than 150 years of combined legal experience to offer your case. Talk to us about the circumstances of your reckless driving case today.

Contact us at (888) 497-0216 or fill out our online form to speak to us about your case today.

Negligence vs. Willful Conduct

If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, the prosecution needs to prove you willfully and wantonly drove your vehicle recklessly. Willfully means you knew you were driving dangerously and you were doing so on purpose. Wantonly means you drove with conscious indifference to the potential harm you may have caused to people or property. However, if you had no idea you were driving so dangerously, mere negligence is not enough to charge you with reckless driving.

Penalties

The punishment for driving recklessly will depend on the circumstances of your case. The more damage you caused, the more fines or time in prison you may accrue. If this is your 1st time recklessly driving, and you didn’t cause any injury or damage to property, you would be guilty of a 2nd-degree misdemeanor. The penalty for a 2nd-degree misdemeanor is up to 90 days in jail or 6 months of probation, and a $500 fine. If this is your 2nd or subsequent offense, the maximum penalty increases to up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

If you injured someone or damaged property during the crime, the charge would be a 1st-degree misdemeanor, and you could face up to 1 year in jail or 12 months of probation, and a $1,000 fine. Serious bodily injury or property damage would be a 3rd-degree felony and will result in up to 5 years in prison or 5 years of probation, and a $5,000 fine.

Contact Our Experienced Attorneys Today

Our Florida traffic offenses attorneys are experienced in handling all types criminal cases. From simple to complex situations, we have the skill it takes to advocate aggressively on your behalf. We understand this may be a stressful and terrifying time for you, so we will make the process as stress-free as possible. Our attorneys will exploit the weaknesses of the prosecution’s case while bolstering your case with a good strategic defense. Let us see what we can do for you.

To get started on your case, contact us at (888) 497-0216 or fill out our online form to schedule your free case review today.

Our Clients Say It Best

  • I feel that my case was handled aggressively, ethically, and efficiently.

    - Lauren Murphy

  • It has been an honor and a pleasure being represented by Musca Law during this ordeal.

    - B. W. & S. W.

  • The expertise of Musca Law’s staff and courteous service go without saying.

    - Joan Sandak

  • We couldn’t have asked for a better team or a better outcome, and they were with us every step of the way.

    - L.E.

We Have The Legal Strength You Need

  • 150 Years of Combined Experience

    150 Years of
    Combined Experience

  • Certified in Breathalyzer Operation

    Certified in
    Breathalyzer Operation

  • Named Top Criminal and DUI Defense Lawyers by Newsweek

    Named Top Criminal and DUI Defense Lawyers by Newsweek

Protecting Your Rights Inside & Outside of Court

Get Your Free Case Evaluation Now!