FLORIDA WEAPON CRIME LAWYERS

Back Your Case with 150+ Years of Legal Experience

Florida has numerous weapons offenses, which can be classified as misdemeanors or felonies. If convicted, an individual accused of such charges can face lengthy jail time and hefty fines. However, a solid defense can help you avoid such legal consequences by helping you protect your freedom. The experienced Florida criminal defense lawyers at Musca Law are dedicated to upholding the rights of individuals who are facing any of a number of weapons charges.

We can help with charges such as:

  • Carrying a concealed firearm
  • Selling and delivering firearms
  • Illegal possession of a firearm
  • Manufacturing firearms or other weapons
  • Shooting a firearm in public
  • Brandishing a firearm
  • Improper exhibition of a firearm or weapon
  • Using a firearm while intoxicated
  • False bomb threats
  • Weapon of mass destruction offenses
  • Juvenile weapons offenses

Possession of a firearm is a serious offense, but the use of a deadly weapon in the commission of the crime can turn a misdemeanor into a felony and can result in the court imposing extremely harsh penalties on you if you are convicted. Even brandishing a firearm during the commission of another crime, such as robbery or burglary, may result in the offender facing enhanced penalties.

Carrying an Unlicensed Concealed Firearm or Weapon 

As dictated by Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.01, any person who carries a concealed weapon or electric weapon/device (unlicensed under Chapter 790.06) will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000. Under the same statute, any person who carries a concealed firearm that is not licensed under 790.06 will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 

Keep in mind that any person who carries a concealed weapon as part of a mandatory evacuation issued by the Governor of Florida (keeping with Chapter 870) in a time span of 48-hours will not face criminal charges. 

Selling and Delivering Firearms in the State of Florida 

Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.065(1) dictates that any licensed importer, manufacturer, or dealer may not (for any purpose) sell or deliver any firearm (from their inventories) to anyone besides importers, manufacturers, dealers, or collectors who are properly licensed by the State of Florida, until this body has taken the following actions: 

  • Received a completed form authorized by the Department of Law Enforcement.
  • Received a paid fee from the buyer for the procession of a criminal background check authorized by the Department of Law Enforcement.
  • Initiated a request for an investigation conducted by the Department. 
  • Received an approval number for the transaction. 

Here is a closer look at potential charges faced by people who have taken part in the illegal sale and/or delivery of firearms

  • Any buyer or transferee who provides false information during the transaction will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 
  • Any dealer importer, manufacturer or dealer who is properly licensed who falsifies information or violates any subtext of the statute will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 
  • Employees and agencies of these licensed manufacturers, importers, or dealers who provide false information or violate any section of this statute will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 
  • Any person who purchases a firearm by means of this system with the intended purpose of use by a person who cannot legally possess this firearm (by state and federal law) will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 
  • Any person who sells a gun to a person who is younger than 21 years will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 

Possessing and/or Discharging Weapons on School Property

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.115, any person who brandishes a firearm, knife, sword, electric device, or any other type of weapon (including razor blades) in a dangerous or threatening manner to any individuals within 1,000 feet of school property or inside a school (including school buses and sites of field trips) will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000.

Under this same statute, any person who loads or prepares a firearm in the presence of and within easy reach of a minor will be charged with a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 60-day prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $500. 

On that note, any person who discharges a firearm (excluding the purpose of self-defense) under these same specifications will be charged with a 2nd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000. 

Discharging Firearms in Public or on Residential Property 

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.15, any person who willingly and intentionally discharges a loaded firearm in any public space (including roadways, highways, streets, occupied residential areas, or open spaces) or negligently discharges this weapon in public will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000. 

Here is a closer look at additional charges people can face for discharging weapons in public: 

  • Any person (occupying a vehicle) who willingly and intentionally discharges a firearm from this vehicle in the vicinity of 1,000 feet of any people in public will be charged with a 2nd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000.
  • Furthermore, any driver who urges this passenger to open fire on public places will be charged a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 
  • Any person who discharges a firearm for the purpose of target shooting in an area that could endanger members of the public will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000 fine. 

Using Firearms While Under the Influence of Alcohol or Other Drugs

As dictated by Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.151, any person who (while under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs, including controlled substances) will be charged with a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 60-day prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $500. 

Discharging Machine Guns

Under specifications laid out in Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.16, any person who wields and discharges a machine gun (with the intention to inflict bodily harm on people and/or destroy property) will be charged with a 1st-degree felony, which is punishable by a 30-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000-$15,000. 

Improperly Exhibiting Firearms or Weapons in Public 

In keeping with Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.10, any person who improperly and unethically brandishes a weapon or firearm in the presence of other people (not for the purposes of self-defense) will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000. 

Making, Possessing, and/or Throwing Weapons in Florida 

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.161, any person who illegally organizes, manufactures, distributes, and/or throws weapons in the State of Florida will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. However, if the responsible person intended to inflict bodily harm on a victim (or victims) and/or inflict damage on property, the charges will be increased to a 2nd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000. 

In the event that victims have died as a result of throwing these weapons, the culprit(s) will be charged with a capital felony, which is punishable by life imprisonment (for 1st-degree murder) and/or a fine that does not exceed $15,000. 

Throwing, Projecting, and/or Discharging of Bombs or Other Destructive Devices

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.1615, any person who illegally throws, projects, and/or discharges a bomb or other destructive device that inflicts bodily injuries on people (regardless of initial intentions) will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000. 

In the event that the bomb or destructive device inflicts severe physical injuries (including disfigurement) or permanent disabilities (regardless of initial intentions), the culprit(s) will be charged with a 2nd-degree felony, punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000. 

Falsely Reporting the Placement of a Bomb or Other Destructive Device 

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.163, any person who makes a false report (as an intentional act of misleading people) about the placement or planting of bombs or other destructive devices (including dynamite or weapons of mass destruction) will be charged with a 2nd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000. 

Manufacturing and/or Possessing Weapons of Mass Destruction 

Keep in mind that, under these terms, a weapon of mass destruction is a device that:

  • Has been created to inflict severe bodily harm or killing innocent people. 
  • Contains a biological agent (e.g. viruses, microorganisms, or infectious chemicals). 
  • Has been designed to release radioactive chemicals or radiation that can harm or kill human and animal life. 
  • Contains toxins, vectors, or delivery systems. 

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.166, any person who manufactures, possesses, and/or threatens to use a weapon of mass destruction (or attempts to do so) will be charged with a 1st-degree felony, which is punishable by a 30-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000-$15,000. Additionally, any person who conducts the same course of action to promote a hoax weapon of mass destruction will be charged with a 2nd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000. 

Handing out Weapons to Minors

Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.17 states that any person who conducts the sale, trade, or transference of a weapon (excluding pocketknives) to individuals who are younger than 18-years of age without the permission of this person’s parents or guardians, or hands the weapon over to these minors, will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a 1-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $1,000. 

Likewise, any person who sells a weapon to a minor will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, which is punishable by a 5-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 

Previous Violent Crime Offenders and Weapons Possession in Florida 

Under Florida Statute Title XLVI Chapter 790.235, any person meeting all criteria for the status of violent career criminal under Chapter 775.084(1)(d) who possesses and/or discharges a weapon will be charged with a 1st-degree felony, which is punishable by a 30-year prison sentence and/or a fine that does not exceed $10,000-$15,000. 

Determining a Valid Case for Weapons Crimes in the State of Florida 

For a full readout of the instructions laid out for members of a criminal jury in cases concerning weapons crimes in the State of Florida, please review the following rules for the aforementioned crimes, including carrying an unlicensed firearm or a violent weapon: Jury Instructions Chapter 10

Aggressive Advocacy, Trusted Skills

Weapons charges in Florida are not dealt with lightly. If you are convicted of such a crime, you could face serious consequences across multiple areas of your life and livelihood. If you or a loved one are facing such a charge, it is in your best interest to contact our criminal defense lawyers in Florida today. We have over 150-years of combined legal experience within our team of qualified attorneys. Our attorneys thoroughly understand Florida’s state laws in regards to weapons possession, and we are not afraid to leverage the knowledge to best assist you in resolving your case. Because of our dedication to our clients and to excellent litigation services more broadly, we have earned an A+ rating from BBB® and are 10/10 Super Avvo Rated. Our firm was also positively featured on NBC News and Fox News. We offer a free, no-obligation initial case consultation to new clients, so don’t hesitate to contact our office today at (888) 484-5057 to determine how our legal services could best support you and your legal needs.

Call (888) 484-5057 to talk to a lawyer about your weapon offense charges.
Protecting Your RightsInside & Outside of Court Get Your Free Case Evaluation Now!