Lewd & Lascivious Behavior Charges in Florida

Protect Your Reputation with a Florida Sex Crimes Lawyer

According to Florida law, defined in section 798.02, "It is invalid for a man and a woman who are not married to live together in a lewd or lascivious way." In other words, it is illegal for a couple to live together if they are not married to each other. This is not heavily prosecuted in Florida; however, you may face fines, prison time, and lots of paperwork if charges are pressed and if you are convicted.

If you are facing charges of lewd or lascivious behavior in Florida, don't hesitate to call Musca Law for help navigating this situation. We can fight to reduce or dismiss your charges altogether.

Penalties of Lewd or Lascivious Behavior

Under Florida law, lewd or lascivious behavior is defined as when a non-married couple lives together under the same roof and when others know about their living situation. The consequences of being involved in lewd or lascivious behavior are not as serious as other lewd and lascivious crimes.

If the offender is over 18 years of age:
  • The offender may face a misdemeanor of the second degree.
  • The offender may face a maximum 60 day prison sentence.
  • The offender may face a minimum 5 day prison sentence.

These charges may affect your reputation if they are pressed within the context of cheating on your spouse or other complex relational situations. Although this law is rarely used in the prosecution of individuals, it is necessary to enlist the help of a defense lawyer if you find yourself in this situation.


Get your case started by calling us at (888) 484-5057 today!

Ready for Your Free Case Evaluation?

Fill out the form below.

I consent to receiving a text message at this number with more information. Msg rates may apply.