Fight Charges of Lewd or Lascivious Battery in Florida
Florida Sex Crimes Attorneys can Aggressively Advocate for You
As defined in Florida Law, section 800.04, lewd or lascivious battery is "a forcefully sexual act with someone who is between 12 to 16 years of age." Even if the minor is said to have consented, it is still a highly punishable offense because the minor is under the age of consent. Ignorance of the age of the minor is not a usable defense in this case.
Because of the complexities of these charges and the age of the minor involved in the allegations, it is necessary to enlist the help of a skilled and experienced Florida sex crimes lawyer for your defense. These charges are often prosecuted to the full extent of the law, leaving you at the mercy of the court. Protect your rights with Musca Law. With more than a century of collective legal experience, we can capably represent your rights and fight for the best possible outcome on your behalf.
Facing charges of lewd or lascivious battery in Florida? Call (888) 497-0216 for a free case evaluation.
Difference between Lewd or Lascivious Battery and Sexual Battery
The first difference between lewd or lascivious battery and sexual battery has to do with the age of the victims involved. Sexual battery is applicable to victims of all ages. On the other hand, lewd or lascivious battery only applies to victims who are between 12-16 years of age.
Additionally, sexual battery prohibits forceful sex with victims of any age. Lewd or lascivious battery addresses sexual contact that a person may have had with a minor between 12-16 years of age who had given his or her consent. Because the victim is not old enough to make legally-recognized decisions, this consent is disregarded in a court of law.
Penalties for Lewd or Lascivious Battery
Even if the victim in question consented to sex, the offense would still be severely punishable under the provisions surrounding the law of lewd or lascivious battery.
Some of these penalties may include the following:
- A third degree felony charge
- Prison terms ranging from 10-15 years, not including multiple counts
- Fines of $5,000 or more
- Mandatory sex offender registration for life
These penalties have the ability to entirely change the direction of your life. Although you may have had a successful life prior to these charges, a conviction of this crime could result in strained relationships, difficulty finding housing, difficulty maintaining employment, or more. Yearly registration as a sex offender will greatly decrease the opportunities you have in life.
To lessen or perhaps even to clear these charges, enlist the help of experienced Florida sex crimes lawyers from Musca Law. We are available 24/7 to listen to your case. Call (888) 497-0216 today!