- Child Exploitation
- Child Molestation
- Child Pornography
- Federal Sex Crimes
- Forcing Another to Become a Prostitute
- Human Trafficking
- Indecency with a Child
- Indecent Exposure
- Injunctions & Restraining Orders
- Internet & Computer Sex Crimes
- Lewd & Lascivious Crimes
- Pimping and Pandering
- Registration as a Sex Offender
- Retail Display of Pornography to a Minor
- Sale or Distribution to a Minor
- Sex Trafficking
- Sexual Activity with a 16/17 Year Old
- Sexual Assault
- Sexual Battery
- Sexual Predator Act
- Sexual Tourism
Sale or Distribution to a Minor in Florida
Qualified Defense from Award-Winning Florida Sex Crimes Attorneys
Florida law prohibits the sale of any form of pornography (such as images, videos, etc.) to minors under 17. This law also encompasses anyone who assists a minor in the purchase of pornographic material. If convicted of this crime, you could face years in prison, not to mention public disdain.
If you are facing charges of selling pornography to minors or buying pornography for minors, you will need to aggressively fight these charges in order to protect your reputation, and possibly your freedom. Hire a Florida sex crimes lawyer immediately upon being charged with these crimes. With more than a century of collective experience, we can capably handle your case.
Call (888) 484-5057 to learn more about your rights and your options in a free case evaluation.
Defining Pornography in the State of Florida
According to State of Florida Statutes, pornography is defined as “any picture, photograph, drawing, sculpture, motion picture film, videocassette, or similar visual representation or image of a person or portion of the human body which depicts nudity or sexual conduct, sexual excitement, sexual battery, bestiality, or sadomasochistic abuse”. It also includes any book, pamphlet, magazine, printed matter, or sound recording that is pornographic or harmful in nature.
Consequences for Selling Pornography to Minors in the State of Florida
The penalties for selling pornography to minors are serious and carry lifelong consequences. These consequences also apply to those who purchase pornography for a minor.
- Felony of the third degree
- Prison time of up to 5 years
- $5,000 in fines
- Increased penalties for habitual felony offenders
- Every instance of selling pornography to a minor counts as a separate offense
- Separate offense penalties are served consecutively
- Possible registration as a sex offender for life
Additionally, other related charges, such as child abuse, may also be pressed at this time.
Possible Defenses for Selling/Distributing Pornography to Minors in the State of Florida
Unfortunately, being ignorant of a minor’s age is not a usable defense if you are charged with selling or obtaining pornography to minors. You can still be charged with selling or obtaining pornography for a minor, even if that minor had a fake I.D. While this makes it a lot more difficult for you to fight the charges against you, there are a several defenses that your Florida pornography defense attorney can use to assist you in reducing or even having the charges against you dismissed.
Begin your fight to a cleared name by contacting Musca Law. Our award-winning team of legal professionals can help you navigate your circumstances.